Elections 2013: Punjab Assembly results show a dent in PML-N’s total domination

An edited version of this article was first published in The Express Tribune on May 14, 2013.

Islamabad – The contest for Punjab Assembly seats in the Rawalpindi district proved to be a two-horse race, with the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) sharing

The two parties finished one-two in the results of at least eight provincial assembly seats in district Rawalpindi.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has so far released the unofficial results of 10 of the total 14 Punjab Assembly seats from the district. PML-N secured six of those 10 seats and PTI won four, but in eight of these races, the two parties fought for the title, with other political parties trailing far behind.

For the remaining four provincial assembly seats, where the ECP has not issued unofficial results yet, PTI was ahead on one seat and PML-N was leading on two seats, according to preliminary media reports based on polling station results.

Votes are still being recounted on the fourth seat, PP-6, where PML-N leader Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan was running as an independent candidate against PTI’s Wasiq Abbasi.

Khan, who was the leader of the opposition in the National Assembly in the previous term and won again this year from NA-52, also faced stiff competition on the PP-7 seat where he ran on PML-N’s ticket.

According to unofficial ECP results available on the commission’s website, Khan received 48,109 votes, only 314 votes more than second-placed Muhammad Siddique Khan of PTI.

PTI supporters have leveled rigging allegations against Khan on the PP-6 and PP-7 seats.

In PP-11 and PP-12, which fall in the National Assembly constituency NA-55, PTI candidates edged past PML-N candidates with victory margins of less than 2,000 votes, according to ECP results.

The result reflected Sheikh Rasheed’s victory, whose party was supported in NA-55 by PTI.

Even though PTI chief Imran Khan won from elections NA-56, political breakups resulted in PTI getting only one provincial assembly seat from the area. PTI’s Arif Abbasi won from PP-13 but Raja Abdul Hanif secured PP-14 for the PML-N.

PP-9 and PP-10 were split among the two parties, as well.

Asif Mehmood of PTI barely beat PML-N’s Chaudhry Muhammad Ayaz by 219 votes in PP-9 but Malik Iftikhar Ahmed, the PML-N candidate in PP-10, scored a comfortable victory over Umer Tanveer of PTI with a lead of 6,368 votes, according to unofficial ECP results.

Iftikhar Ahmed, not the same person as the PP-10 candidate, registered a comfortable victory for PML-N in PP-3 with 58,814 votes, according to unofficial ECP results.

PTI failed to dent PML-N’s hold in Murree’s PP-1 and PP-2 where PML-N candidates scored easy victories.



, , , , , , , ,

About waqas

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply